To kick off the New Year, we thought it would be useful for both employers and job seekers to discuss Arkansas' minimum wage. State minimum wage regulations are constantly changing, so some people may gain fresh insight with each new year.
According to the Fact Sheet on the Increase of the Arkansas Minimum Wage provided by the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing, the state's current minimum wage is $11.00, which is greater than the Federal Minimum wage of $7.25.
The Arkansas Minimum Wage Act must be followed by employers who have four or more employees. Employers covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) who have four or more employees must also abide by the rules of Title 11 of the Arkansas Code.
The current Arkansas minimum wage applies to most employees:
Tipped employees are required to receive a minimum wage of $2.63 per hour. This amount plus tips must equal at least the state minimum wage. The employer is responsible for keeping accurate tip records.
Most employees who work more than 40 hours a week are required to be paid for overtime. There are some special provisions for workers in hospitals, residential care homes, police, and fire departments.
Only public agencies have the authority to grant compensatory time off instead of paying overtime.
Digitalization advancements have made resources more easily accessible, so keep up to date by visiting our Resource Page. Best wishes for a successful start to the new year!